A Guide for Self-Taught Developers to Learning to Code

A Guide for Self-Taught Developers to Learning to Code

·

3 min read

As a self-taught developer, I know how difficult it can be to learn to code. I've gone through the same struggles, frustrations, and successes—and I want to share what I've learned with you. That's why I'm writing this guide for self-taught developers learning to code.

I remember when I started my journey to tech. I must say it's been a rosy journey, but it comes with ups and downs. It required me more patience and discipline to eventually break into the field. It cost me a significant amount of time learning technologies and languages via tutorial courses on youtube and udemy videos. I have to connect with a lot of people on LinkedIn, Slack, Discord and especially TWITTER. Today, I can proudly say, the responses and supports I got from different people from different countries and continents on Twitter were overwhelming. Oh! my #100DaysOfCode! That's where the journey began.

Aspiring to become a web developer is an exciting journey, but it can be difficult to know where to start, especially if you're a self-taught programmer. In this article, I want to explore the basic steps of becoming a successful self-taught web developer and hopefully provide some guidance on how to go about it.

First, you must learn the basics of coding. This means that you need to gain an understanding of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. These three languages are essential to building a basic website, so it's important to become familiar with them before diving into more complex topics. You will also want to make sure to get some practice in by building basic websites and projects. This will help you gain confidence in your coding abilities and make it easier to understand more complex concepts.

Once you’ve got the basics down, it's time to move on to more advanced areas of web development. This could include learning more about server-side programming, database management, and web security. You should also familiarize yourself with popular web frameworks and libraries like Angular, React and Node.js. These tools will help you build robust web applications quickly and efficiently.

Most importantly, you need to stay motivated and keep learning. As you continue to expand your knowledge and skill set, you will gain confidence and be able to take on more complex projects. It's important to stay up-to-date with the latest technology and trends in web development. Reading industry blogs and books, participating in online forums, and attending developer meetups can all help you stay informed and motivated.

Finally, don't be afraid to ask for help. While it's possible to become a self-taught web developer, it can be difficult to stay on track without some guidance and support. Consider reaching out to a mentor, attending coding boot camps, or joining online communities for web developers. Doing so will give you access to valuable resources and advice from experienced developers.

To sum up, becoming a self-taught web developer is an awesome challenge, but it won’t be easy. You need to learn the fundamentals, stay up-to-date with the latest technologies, and stay motivated. Additionally, don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. With the right combination of dedication and support, it’s entirely possible to become a successful self-taught web developer.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope you find the couple of things that I shared helpful please share this article with people who are also looking forward to getting into tech this year. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a DM on Twitter and I'll be happy to answer every single one.

Â